The toughest Roads
shouldn't be navigated alone
shouldn't be
navigated alone
Let's get you back
on the road legally
Attorney Brian Simoneau is a great lawyer. He is very versed on the current laws and he will help you convey a well organized winning case. I would highly recommend him.
James F.
c-img-new c-img-new

NH DWI Consequences for Mass. Residents

Massachusetts Registry News

Many Massachusetts residents have the misfortune of being charged with DUI in New Hampshire. When this happens, the driver must satisfy both the New Hampshire DMV and the Massachusetts RMV, prior to getting his or her license reinstated.  Those who are convicted of a first offense DUI in New Hampshire will be fined at least $500.00, found guilty of a Class B Misdemeanor, and required to complete an impaired driver intervention program.

Persons with prior DWI convictions must complete the DUI multiple offender intervention program (M.O.P.) or an equivalent 7-day residential intervention program which has been approved, in advance, by the State of New Hampshire. A driver must furnish proof of successful completion of an Impaired Driver Intervention Program (IDIP) prior to restoration of his license or right to operate.

A NH DUI conviction carries a license revocation from at least 9 months up to 2 years, at the discretion of the court. However, when the DUI defendant enters an approved DUI program, the court may suspend up to 6 months of the license revocation. The court may also require the drunk driver to submit to random urinalysis or such other tests as the judge may deem appropriate.

The six-month suspension for early treatment option of, does not apply to the mandatory one-year license revocation period for DWI offenders under the age of 21.

In some cases, a New Hampshire DUI can be reduced from a misdemeanor to a violation. This can only be done at least one year after the date of the conviction. In deciding whether to reduce a NH drunk driving conviction, the judge may consider the person’s subsequent driving history, any evidence of drug or alcohol treatment, the hardship that having a criminal record may cause for the OUI defendant, and any other factors that the judge deems relevant.
The New Hampshire Courts have determined that a DUI Massachusetts is considered a reasonably equivalent offense for sentencing and suspension purposes when someone with a Mass. OUI conviction commits a DUI in New Hampshire.

Getting back on the road after a NH DUI conviction will require completion of an alcohol program and satisfying both the Mass. RMV and the NH DMV.  A lawyer can help you do this in the quickest and most efficient way possible.

Related Articles