The toughest Roads
shouldn't be navigated alone
shouldn't be
navigated alone
Let's get you back
on the road legally
Attorney Brian Simoneau is a great lawyer. He is very versed on the current laws and he will help you convey a well organized winning case. I would highly recommend him.
James F.
c-img-new c-img-new

Ignition Interlock Device Proposed for OUI First Offenders


Massachusetts Senate Bill 1925, which was filed on January 13, 2009 in the Senate, would require mandatory use of a certified ignition interlock device for DUI First Offenders during the entire term of any Massachusetts Hardship License and for 6 months after the DUI first offender gets a full license reinstatement. Currently, Melanie’s Law only requires second or subsequent OUI offenders to use the ignition interlock device.

If this proposed legislation passes, Massachusetts will join 8 other states which require DUI First Offenders to use interlock. The other states are Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Louisiana New Mexico Nebraska and Washington. Mothers Against Drunk Driving has been pushing for laws requiring use of the ignition interlock device across the country. The group claims that first offenders represent 50-60 percent of those arrested for OUI.

A public hearing was held at the Mass. Statehouse last month on this bill and it is expected to receive strong support.

Related Articles