Massachusetts residents who are arrested for DUI in Connecticut may have to contend with the Connecticut Ignition Interlock Law. Specifically, Connecticut General Statute §14-227a (g) requires that any motor vehicle operator who has two convictions of operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs within ten years, must serve a suspension period of one year and is prohibited from operating any motor vehicle unless it is equipped with an approved ignition interlock device, for twenty-four months period, following restoration of their operating privilege or operator’s license.
Therefore, if you fall within this category, you will be required to install the ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle.
If you are going to use vendor located in Massachusetts, it must be an installer serving Connecticut as well, as the reporting has to be transmitted to Connecticut. To start this process you must obtain certified driving history from Massachusetts’ Registry and forward to: CT DMV, Driver Services, 60 State Street, Wethersfield, CT 06161. Upon review of your Massachusetts record, more information will be forwarded to you.
Lastly, Massachusetts residents, may opt to serve a three year suspension in lieu of the installation of IID. In order to do this, you would need to submit proof of your permanent residency in Massachusetts. However, this will not satisfy the 2 year Massachusetts IID requirement, under which all second and subsequent offenders who are reinstating on or after January 1, 2006, must have the IID while as a condition of any hardship license and for 2 years after getting a full license.
In summary, by agreeing to go onto the IID, you can reduce a 3 year 2nd offense Connecticut DUI suspension to 1 year, so long as the second offense occurred in Connecticut, and the CT Department of Motor Vehicles grants permission to operate only ignition interlock-equipped motor vehicles instead of serving the 2nd and 3rd years of the DUI license suspension.