The toughest Roads
shouldn't be navigated alone
shouldn't be
navigated alone
Let's get you back
on the road legally
Attorney Brian Simoneau is a great lawyer. He is very versed on the current laws and he will help you convey a well organized winning case. I would highly recommend him.
James F.
c-img-new c-img-new

7 Surchargable Events License Suspensions


7 Surchargeable Events

If you have accumulated 7 Surchargeable Events within any 3 year period, the Registry will automatically suspend your Massachusetts license for a period of sixty (60) days. This license suspension is mandatory and the Registry has no discretion. However, it is possible to avoid the mandatory 7 surchargeable events license suspension if you can show that your driving record is inaccurate. If you were found not responsible or not guilty for the offenses upon which the 7 surchargeable suspension is based, you can avoid losing your license. Contact a Registry Lawyer if you need assistance with this. I have been very successful in getting clients relief from 7 surchargeable events suspensions.

Not all 7 surchargeable event suspensions are legal and I have been able to reverse, or at least terminate, many of these suspensions by appealing them. 

What is a Surchargeable Event?

A “Surchargable Event” is defined as an at fault accident, a traffic law (moving) violation, or comprehensive coverage automobile insurance claim, which may result in an increase in the Policyholder’s premium. Not all motor vehicle violations are considered “surchargeable events.” Also, not all accidents count towards 7 surchargeable event suspensions.

3 Surchargeable Events

If you have accumulated 3 surchargeable events within any 730 day period, the Registry will require you to take a National Safety Council remedial driving course. If you do not take the required course within the specified amount of time, the Registry will impose an indefinite surchargeable events license revocation and the RMV will not allow you to reinstate your license until you take the course and pay a $100.00 reinstatement fee and $50.00 surcharge.

7 Surchargeable Events Suspension

If you have a Massachusetts Suspended License for 7 Surchargeable Events, you have the right to appeal the suspension to the Board of Appeal. Unlike the RMV, which has no discretion in this situation, the Board has the power to modify or annul the license suspension. After a hearing the Board may authorize the issuance of a hardship license or it may shorten the length of the suspension. Massachusetts Registry Lawyers have a proven record of success. We have successfully challenged 7 surchargeable event suspensions and gotten our clients’ licenses reinstated. Don’t suffer with a 60 day license suspension. Contact us for help.

Hearings before the Board of Appeal are not scheduled immediately. There is a delay between the filing of the appeal and the hardship license hearing. Therefore, if you have received a 7 surchargeable events suspension notice, it is important to contact a lawyer as soon as possible. A Registry Lawyer will handle the filing and processing of your appeal. Our lawyers usually file the appeals as soon as we are retained. This immediate filing procedure minimizes suspension time for our clients.

Penalties for driving on a Massachusetts Suspended License can be severe and might include jail time. Do not risk being arrested when we may be able to get your Massachusetts License Suspension reduced or get you a hardship license. A new driving while suspended conviction may generate an additional seven surchargeable event suspension or a 4 year habitual traffic offender revocation.

Related Articles