Request for Detailed Driving History Record
Your Massachusetts Driving Record contains violations that you’ve been charged with over the past 10 years, as well as information about the current status of your license (active, suspended, etc.) and other important details your which automobile insurance company might like to know.
Your driving record includes surchargeable accidents as well as speeding tickets and other civil motor vehicle infractions.
Your Massachusetts Driver History may contain more information than your driving record, and it goes back much further, usually to the day you received your Massachusetts Driver’s License. Under Melanie’s Law, the RMV maintains permanent records of DUI convictions.
Both your Massachusetts Driver History and Driving Record are public documents. To obtain anyone’s history or record, all you need is the person’s name, date of birth, and either his license number or current address.
You can instantly obtain a copy of your Massachusetts Driving Record online from the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles by visiting the Express Lane of the Mass. RMV Website. You can obtain either a certified or uncertified copy of your record. An uncertified copy, which costs $6.00, can be used for most purposes. Using this site, you will be able to instantly download and print your uncertified Massachusetts Driving Record. A certified copy, stamped with the signature of the Registrar of Motor Vehicles, can be requested for court and legal purposes. It costs $20.00 for a certified copy, which will be mailed to the license holder’s address appearing in the Registry’s records. It currently takes approximately 10 days for the Massachusetts Merit Rating Board (MRB) to produce an official copy of your driving record. It will be sent by regular mail from the MRB in Quincy.
Prior to applying for or attending a Registry of Motor Vehicles or Board of Appeal hearing, you should request a copy of your record and have it analyzed by a qualified attorney. Having your Massachusetts Driving Record thoroughly analyzed by a lawyer can increase your chances of obtaining a hardship license or otherwise prevailing at a Registry of Motor Vehicles or Board of Appeal Hearing.
You are also entitled to request and obtain a copy of your Massachusetts Criminal Record.
As part of the service, we provide, your Mass. Registry Lawyer can obtain, analyze, and review your Massachusetts Driving Record. Contact us for details
You can get your New Hampshire Driving Record by contacting the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles at 508-625-5776. The New Hampshire DMV is located at 23 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03305.
Unlike your unattested driving record, the full certified copy of your Massachusetts Driver’s History will contain a letter from the Registrar indicating that “the annexed instrument(s) is a true copy(s) of the driving history and notice (s) of suspension/revocation as appearing in the registrar’s records in accordance with the provisions of G.L. Chapter 90, Section 22.” Your Mass. The registry record will also contain information such as your name, date of birth, license number, address, license issue date, expiration date, license class, and any endorsements. It will also include a code indicating your license status. For example, ACT means active, REV means revoked, RRV means right to operate revoked, NRE means non-renewable, and EXP means expired.
Next, the certified record will contain copies of notices regarding license suspensions and revocations which the Registry claims to have mailed to you. These are used in court cases to prove notice of suspension where the driver is charged with operating after suspension or revocation in violation of G.L. c. 90 § 23. These notices can also be used to prove the existence of prior operating under the influence convictions to subject the driver to the enhanced penalties of Melanie’s Law, which include long license suspensions and ignition interlock requirements for repeat DUI offenders.
Next, the officially certified copy of your Massachusetts Driver History will show a complete list of all offenses and actions on file with the Mass—Merit Rating Board. The document will contain four columns. The first column lists the incident date or notification date. This is the date that the violation occurred or when the Registry was notified of the violation. Next, the record will show a description of the offense or motor vehicle violations, such as speeding or operating under the influence. Next to the violation, there will be a disposition code. For example, CW means “continued without a finding,” “DISM” means dismissed, “R” means responsible, “G” means guilty, NG stands for “not guilty,” and “CD” means complaint denied at a Clerk-Magistrate hearing.
The next column of your driving record will show the court location where the case was tried, and the final column will list the court-finding date. This is the date the case was disposed of. These court-finding dates are used to calculate 7 surchargeable event suspensions as well as 4-year habitual traffic offender revocations. They are also used in 2nd offense DUI cases to see if the defendant is eligible for treatment as a “2nd chance first offender” pursuant to the Cahill decision and G.L. c. 90 § 24D. The Registry also uses finding dates to determine if a driver is required to have an ignition interlock restriction on his or her license.
In addition to violations that occurred in Massachusetts, your driving record may also contain out-of-state violations, which the Registry may sometimes treat as if they had occurred in Massachusetts for license suspension and revocation purposes.
If you have any questions regarding your driving record or if you need help deciphering the disposition codes contained therein, contact Attorney Brian E. Simoneau by completing the contact form on this site or call the Mass. RMV Suspension Line at 508-625-5776.