In an effort to reduce harmful exhaust emissions, the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles has teamed up with the Department of Environmental Protection to reduce idling vehicles, especially school busses, which are a health hazard. Leaving a vehicle idling for more than 5 minutes is a violation of the Massachusetts anti-idling law, which carries a $100.00 fine for a first offense and up to a $500.00 fine for a second offense. There are exceptions for vehicles being serviced, vehicles making deliveries that need to keep their engines running (to power refrigerators, for example), and vehicles that need to run their engines to operate accessories, such as power lifts.)The Mass. anti-idling campaign will reduce health hazards and diesel pollution.
The Registry of Motor Vehicles will be enacting regulations outlining the necessary steps for schools, bus drivers and other drivers to comply with the law. The regulations will define what is considered “prolonged idling” and will likely indicate where vehicles may idle and may describe “no idling zones.” The RMV will notify all Massachusetts school bus drivers about the new regulation.