The toughest Roads
shouldn't be navigated alone
shouldn't be
navigated alone
Let's get you back
on the road legally
Attorney Brian Simoneau is a great lawyer. He is very versed on the current laws and he will help you convey a well organized winning case. I would highly recommend him.
James F.
c-img-new c-img-new

New Ignition Intelrock Device Laws Proposed

Massachusetts Registry News

Alabama will soon become the 50th state to require DUI offenders to use the ignition interlock device. With the support of Mothers Against Drunk Driving, the Alabama Legislature just passed House Bill 361. Once signed by the governor, the Alabama Ignition Interlock Law will require even first offenders to use the ignition interlock devices. The governor is expected to sign the bill within a few days.

Although Alabama was the 50th state to implement an ignition interlock program, it has become the 13th state to require first offenders to use the devices. Those convicted of a first offense DUI with a blood alcohol content at or above .15 will be required to use the ignition interlocks. Legislation is being proposed to require IIDs for all Massachusetts first offenders for a period of at least 180 days.

Minnesota recently implemented an ignition interlock law, which goes into effect on July 1st. Like the Alabama law, it requires repeat DWI offenders and first offenders with high BAC readings to use the lockout devices.  The Minnesota ignition interlock program is designed to allow OUI offenders to get back on the road, while protecting the public safety, by forcing them to use the ignition interlocks.

Both houses of the Connecticut General Assembly passed a bill that would require DUI first offenders to use ignition interlock devices for one year and second offenders will be mandated to use the IIDs for 3 years. As a tradeoff, the one year 1st offense license suspension and 3 year 2nd offense suspensions would be reduced to 45 days.

The Kansas House and Senate recently adopted a measure that would require mandatory ignition interlock usage for 6 months following a first offense DUI conviction, 1 year for a 2nd offense, 2 years for a 3rd offense, and 3 years for a 4th offense DUI.

Ignition interlock devices are not perfect. They have been known to register false positive alcohol readings and these readings can trigger 10 year and lifetime license revocations in Massachusetts. I have successfully represented numberous clients who were charged with ignition interlock violations.

Related Articles