The toughest Roads
shouldn't be navigated alone
shouldn't be
navigated alone
Let's get you back
on the road legally
Attorney Brian Simoneau is a great lawyer. He is very versed on the current laws and he will help you convey a well organized winning case. I would highly recommend him.
James F.
c-img-new c-img-new

New Hampshire SR-22 Financial Responsibility Requirements

Massachusetts Registry News

The State of New Hampshire requires proof of financial responsibility (liability insurance) which is also known as an SR-22 certificate for 3 years following a first offense DUI conviction. For a second offense DUI conviction, SR-22 insurance is required for 3 years following the date you are eligible to have your license or right to drive in New Hampshire reinstated.  The SR-22 requirement cannot be waived for Massachusetts residents, even though the Mass. RMV does not require SR-22 insurance certificates.

The purpose of the SR-22 requirement is to protect those on the road in New Hampshire by requiring drivers who have committed certain violations to obtain adequate automobile insurance coverage and to provide proof of coverage in the form of a SR-22 insurance certificate.

Massachusetts does not require SR-22 insurance, because liability insurance is compulsory in Massachusetts for everyone.

New Hampshire requires SR-22 insurance even if you do not own a vehicle. In those cases, you have to file an operator’s SR-22 certificate. The financial responsibility / SR-22 processing unit for the NH DMV is located at 23 Hazen Drive in Concord, NH. You can reach them at 603-227-4010.

The NH DMV requires SR-22 certificates for those convicted of DUI, leaving the scene of an accident, MV homicide, and 2nd offense convictions for excessive speed, and reckless operation. Out of state convictions for the above-listed offenses trigger SR-22 insurance requirements. When a Massachusetts resident’s right to drive in New Hampshire has been suspended for failure to prove proof of financial responsibility (FR), the NH DMV will notify the Massachusetts Registry and the RMV will indefinitely revoke the driver’s license.

The Mass. RMV will require clearance in the NDR prior to reinstating a driver’s license which was suspended or revoked here. However, drivers usually cannot get insurance without a valid driver’s license. In situations such as these, the driver should ask for a clearance letter from the DMV in Concord, NH stating that other than the SR-22 FR requirement, the driver is otherwise clear in New Hampshire.

If you need assistance with the Massachusetts license suspension consequences associated with a NH DUI, contact Attorney Brian E. Simoneau using the contact form on this website.

Related Articles