The toughest Roads
shouldn't be navigated alone
shouldn't be
navigated alone
Let's get you back
on the road legally
Attorney Brian Simoneau is a great lawyer. He is very versed on the current laws and he will help you convey a well organized winning case. I would highly recommend him.
James F.
c-img-new c-img-new

National Safety Council Driver Retraining Course


If a motorist is found to be responsible for 5 or more surchargeable events in a three-year period, the motorist is required by law to attend and pass the Driver Retraining Program. The three-year time frame is calculated from the conviction date. A surchargeable event is an “at fault” accident or motor vehicle violation, which is susceptible to insurance surcharge under the Safe Driver Insurance Plan (SDIP).

Junior Operators who receive speeding citations are also required to take the NSC Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course.

If you receive a suspension notice because of surchargable events, the RMV will assign you a hearing at which time you will have the opportunity to challenge the charges on your driver record. You will need to present documentation at your hearing that demonstrates you were found not guilty or not responsible for the charge(s) listed on your driver record.

You are required by law to attend the Driver Retraining Program if you do not attend your hearing, or if you attend your hearing and are found to be guilty or responsible as charged. Contact a Registry Lawyer to discuss representation at the Registry Hearing, which will be limited to the accuracy of your record. If your record is accurate, the Registry has no discretion and it must either require you to take the NSC Class, for 5 surchargable events, or suspend your license for 60 days if you have 7 surchargable events. Also, if your license is revoked under the Habitual Traffic Offender law, you must have taken the NSC Class within 3 years to get your revoked license reinstated.

In cooperation with the RMV, the NSC will present its course in either one eight-hour session or two four-hour sessions. The program is aimed at changing behavior behind the wheel. Through this classroom course, drivers learn why they continue to have driving-related problems and how they can take responsibility for their actions. This course may provide you with the opportunity to keep your license while addressing your driving habits.

The cost of the program is $100.00, payable to the National Safety Council. Drivers may register for a class with a credit card by visiting the National Safety Council web site or by calling their office at 1-800-215-1581.

National Safety Council (NSC) has established classroom locations throughout Massachusetts. The eight-hour classroom course will be taught in either two four-hour weeknight sessions or in a full, one-day Saturday session.

If you are required to take the course, your driver’s license (or right to operate a motor vehicle) will be suspended until you satisfactorily complete the course and pay an additional reinstatement fee to the RMV. Completion of the program is required by Chapter 175, Section 113B of the Motor Vehicle and Traffic Laws of Massachusetts.

Once you satisfactorily complete the driving class, the, NSC will send your completion information via electronic transmittal to the Mass. Registry. The RMV will then update your driver record with this information. This process takes approximately three to four business days.

The RMV must receive your electronic completion by the date they intend to suspend your license. Therefore, if you need to take the NSC class, you should sign up immediately

If you are seeking a hardship license because your license was suspended or revoked under the Habitual Traffic Offender Law, you must have taken the National Safety Council Driver Retraining Course within three years of the license reinstatement hearing.

You can contact the National Safety Council’s Driver Retraining Program staff as listed below:

National Safety Council
Attn: Massachusetts Program
200 Salina Meadows Pkwy
Syracuse, NY 13212
(800) 215-1581 (Monday thru Friday, 8:30 am – 4:45 pm EST)
(315) 453-7932 (fax)
TTY line for the hearing impaired: (866) 268-0503

Related Articles