Mass. License Renewal Reminder Service
In November of 2009, due to budget cuts, the Mass. Registry of Motor Vehicles was forced to stop sending license expiration reminders. However, the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) has since resumed this service. You will now receive a reminder via U.S. Mail notifying you of the expiration of your Massachusetts Driver’s License. Therefore, this free electronic renewal reminder service has been discontinued. You should ensure that the Registry has your current mailing address as G.L. c. 90 § 26A requires you to inform the RMV of a name or address change within 30 days of the change.
License Renewals in Massachusetts
A Massachusetts driver's license is valid for a maximum period of 5 years and it will expire on the holder’s birthday. However, the first Massachusetts license which you are issued will expire on your 5th birthday which follows the issue date.
Out of state residents can legally drive on a license issued by the driver’s home state, so long as the license is valid, in the driver’s possession or easily accessible, and the driver’s right to operate in Massachusetts is not suspended or revoked. A Massachusetts license suspension or revocation will “supersede” an out of state license. If you are a Massachusetts resident, it is illegal to drive on an out of state license and you must obtain a Mass. license as soon as you become a Mass. resident. There is no “grace period.” You can be arrested if you are a Massachusetts resident and you are found operating a motor vehicle without a valid Massachusetts Driver's License.
The Mass. RMV has special licensing rules for Military Personnel who are in active military service or returning to Massachusetts from active duty outside of the U.S. Check with MassDOT for more information.
Driving on an expired license is a criminal offense for which you could be arrested. Also, unlicensed operation counts as a major violation under the Massachusetts Habitual Traffic Offender law. Driving on an expired license in Massachusetts is considered unlicensed operation. Also, driving a motor vehicle in Massachusetts without your driver's license and vehicle in possession is a civil motor vehicle infracton.
If you have questions regarding driver's licenses in Massachusetts, you can contact the Registry of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center at 857-368-8000 during normal business hours. If you have a legal question or you need to hire a lawyer to represent you in court or at the RMV, please fill out the contact form on this website or call 508-656-0057.
This website is a private website which is no affiliation with MassDOT or the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. This site is not operated by a goverment agency.