Tough Ignition Interlock Law Proposed in Iowa

State Assembly Speaker Mike Sheridan (D-Janesville) vowed to enact tougher drunk-driving laws in September.
Under a the new proposed Ignition Interlock Device law, repeat DWI offenders would be required to install ignition interlock devices, and a 4th offense DWI would be a felony, in many cases. Current Iowa laws make the fifth offense DWI a felony.The Ignition Interlock Device Bill is expected to enter the Iowa House in September before heading to the Senate.

Under Melanie’s Law, effective January 1, 2006, the Massachusetts Registry has required 2nd and subsequent DUI Offenders to use the Ignition Interlock Device during the term of any Mass. Hardship License and for 2 years after getting a full license reinstatement. Far from foolproof, the devices sometimes register false positive readings, which can lead to a 10 year of lifetime license suspension. However, there are over 3,000 ignition interlock devices in use in Massachusetts and most users do not experience false positive readings. The Massachsetts Ignition Interlock Law was recently challenged and declared constitutional.