Surchargable Accidents Can Trigger License Suspensions

Pursuant to a little known law, being involved in a traffic accident in Massachusetts can result in the suspension of your driver’s license. Under the Massachusetts 7 surchargable event law, any Massachusetts driver who accumulates 7 surchargable events within any three (3) year period, will have his or her driver’s license automatically suspended for 60 days.  Most traffic tickets and all at Massachusetts at fault accidents are considered surchargable events. At fault accidents which result in automobile insurance surcharges are those involving a single car or those where the accident is caused by one vehicle turning in front of another car or rear-ending a vehicle. 

The Registry of Motor Vehicles will not issue any type of work or hardship license in the case of a 7 surchargable event suspension. However, it may be possible to challenge the license suspension by going to the RMV Board of Appeal.  The Board has the power to revise and vacate 7 surchargable event suspensions and it can authorize the issuance of a Massachusetts hardship license.

If you have accumulated a combination of 5 or 6 citations or accidents, you should be extremely careful so as to avoid a 7 surchargable event suspension. If you have received a notice from the Mass. RMV stating that your license will be suspended for 60 days because you have accumulated 7 surchargable events, you should contact a Suspended License Lawyer.  We may be able to prevent the suspension, get you a hardship license, your get your full license reinstated.